The School of Mechanics, Civil Engineering and Architecture (SMCEA)

The School of Mechanics, Civil Engineering and Architecture (SMCEA) was founded in July 2003, and the whole School has moved to Chang An Campus in 2008. Many famous Chinese scientists/educators, such as professor Ji Wenmei, Hu Peiquan, and Lv Maolie, had taught here.

SMCEA consists of three departments: the Department of Engineering Mechanics, the Department of Civil Engineering and the Department of Architecture. It also has six research institutes and centers: the Institute of Vibration Engineering, the Mechanical Properties of Advanced Materials Testing Center, the Institute of Aircraft Reliability Engineering, Department of Civil and Building Scientific Research Institute, Institute of Building Materials, Sustainable Materials Research Institute, and one internationally collaborate organization: the Sustainable Building and Environmental Research Institute (SBERI), which covers Mechanics, Aerospace, Civil Engineering, Transportation, Construction and other disciplines...






I. Introduction

Northwestern Polytechnical University (NPU) is located in ancient capital city of Xi'an. NPU is a research-oriented, multi-disciplinary, and international university of science and technology, which simultaneously excels at aeronautics, astronautics, and marine technology. NPU is the key university in the national 985 Project and 211 Project. The university is affiliated with the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology, and is a member of “Outstanding University Alliance” in China.

As one of the key schools at Northwestern Polytechnical University (NPU), the School of Mechanics, Civil Engineering and Architecture (SMCEA) was founded in July 2003. It currently has more than 110 faculties with high academic levels and rich experiences in teaching and research, which include one academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), two professors of Cheung Kung Scholars Program, one professor of “Thousand Young Talents Program”, 4 winners of New Century Excellent Talents Program, 23 professors, and 42 associate professors.